What happens after the customer updates their payment details?
How to make sure customer gets charges after updating payment details after failed payment
Written by Adriana Giancarla
Updated Nov 5, 2026 1 min read
If the customer updates their card on file to a new one, the system will charge them again if their status is still "active".
If their status is "failed" that means they've reached the max amount of billing attemps (which is typically defaulted to 3x)
Ongoing defaults to 3 billing attempts for failed payments. This means will try 3x to recapture the payment for a subscription after a card has been declined. The merchant can set the Maximum number of billing attempts of retries by going to Ongoing Settings --> Billing Attempts (here you can see how many times it's set to)
TIP #1 If the customer's subscription status is "Active"
If you want to ensure that your customer will be charged, you can change the next billing date to tomorrow.
From Ongoing --> Subscriptions --> click subscription # --> click Next Billing Date --> seelect tomorrow --> click Save Changes.
TIP #2 If the customer's subscription status is "Failed"
If the customer has a status of Failed you can click Activate Subscription to trigger new billing attempts.
From Ongoing --> Subscriptions --> click subscription # --> click "Activate Subscription"
Related articles
- Shopify Update: Payment Methods Removed After Subscription Cancellation
- How to Update a Customer’s Payment Method for Shop Pay Subscriptions
- Unfreezing Subscriptions in Ongoing
- How to View Declined Payments in Ongoing
- Set Up VAT Invoicing For Shopify Subscriptions - Ongoing Subscriptions
- Unpausing a Subscription for a Customer
- How to Add an Anchored Billing Date to an Individual Subscriber
- How to Edit Anchored Billing Date for New & Existing Subscribers
Still need help?
Our team usually replies in a few minutes.