What happens to existing subscribers if I delete my product or put it in Draft mode?
How not offering a product anymore on your site affects subscribers
Written by Adriana Giancarla
Updated Nov 5, 2026 1 min read
If you remove a subscription product, (i.e. deleted it on Shopify or put it in draft mode), your existing subscribers won't be affected.
Your existing subscribers will still be charged and be able to manage their subscriptions on their customer portal.
If your product is in Draft mode, you can always make it Active on Shopify, when you're ready to offer that subscription product on your site and start taking orders again.
Related Articles:
Related articles
- How to Update the Shipping Address for a Gift Subscription
- How to Update Payment Method On Behalf Of Your Customer
- How to unPause a Subscription on behalf of a customer
- How to create Anchored Billing with Ongoing Subscriptions
- What Happens If I Change The Price of a Product? - Shopify Subscriptions
- How to Change Price for Existing Subscribers (Increase / Decrease)
- How a merchant can change payment details on subscription for a customer
- How to cancel all subscriptions related to a discontinued product
Still need help?
Our team usually replies in a few minutes.